Master's Degree in Heritage Studies
Department of Social Sciences and Management

» Study Plan

Degree: Master (Mestrado)

Entry Requirements:

Candidates to the Master Degree in Heritage Studies must meet one of the following requisites:

a) Graduates or legal equivalent;

b) Foreign graduates, after a 1st cycle of studies, structured according to the Bologna Process by an adherent state;

c) Foreign graduates, whose qualification is considered similar to an undergraduate degree by a qualified scientific organ of the university;

d) Schooling, scientific or professional course rendered valid for this cycle of studies by a qualified scientific organ of the university.

The following conditions are also relevant:

e) Candidates with prior fundamental training in History, Art History, Heritage, Archaeology, Museum Studies, Architecture, Fine Arts and Tourism;

f) Candidates graduated in other academic fields that can prove their professional or cultural interest in the subjects taught in the Master Degree in Heritage Studies.

Language of Instruction: Portuguese.

Teaching Mode: Distance learning, via e-learning and online tutoring. Some presence-based sessions may take place.

Goals / Employment:

• Museum Studies and Museum Education Services Specialists;
• Local and regional government Specialists, related to the management, organization, recreation and promotion of the Heritage;
• General and specific training for Cultural Animation specialists;
• Business‐related consultancy activities regarding management and territorial planning, as far as Heritage is concerned;
• Local and regional History and Heritage Research, Art History and Archaeology.

Acess to Further Studies:

3rd cycle programmes in Heritage Studies.

Degree Coordination:
João Luís Cunha Cardoso (Coordinator)
Maria Alexandra Gago da Câmara (Vice-Coordinator)

Curricular Structure and Credits:

Degree lenght: 2 years (4 semesters)
Number of credits required: 120 ECTS
The 1st and 2nd semesters are the curricular component. Students have to achieve 8 course units (60 ECTS): 7 compulsory units (52,5 ECTS) and 1 optional course unit (7,5 ECTS).
The 3rd and 4th semesters are meant to write and prepare a scientific dissertation corresponding to the 60 ECTS left.